ACOM hosted: AMIGO/IGAC VIRTUAL WORKSHOP: Changes in atmospheric composition during the COVID-19 lockdowns

The AMIGO (Analysis of eMIssions using Observations) project of IGAC is organizing an online workshop to discuss the changes in atmospheric composition as derived from surface and satellite observations, and the use of observations to better quantify the changes in emissions related to the lockdowns.

The discussions in the workshop will be based on reviews of published studies on:

  • The quantification of changes in the distributions of chemical species related to the lockdowns.
  • The use of satellite and surface observations to quantify these changes.
  • The intercomparison of multiple emission products.
  • The changes in emissions using inverse techniques.

The workshop will take place on November 3rd via Zoom. It will start at:

  • 8:00 a.m.  U.S. Mountain Standard Time (Boulder, CO, USA)
  • 3:00 p.m. UTC / GMT
  • 4:00 p.m. Paris, Berlin, Madrid
  • 8:30 p.m. Delhi
  • 11:00 p.m. Beijing

The duration of the workshop will be about 2 hours 20 min. It will include two sessions with oral presentations (invited speakers only) and open discussions.

Register here: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSexHKSUdH_qnHvApIpLphOyNQPQyED3c9yUeNkPvraxiIPu9Q/viewform

Building:

Type of event:

Calendar Timing: 
Tuesday, November 3, 2020 - 8:00am to 10:30am MST

Posted by Mary Anne Cervantes at ext. 1484, mcervant@ucar.edu

Quick Facts

NCAR is managed by the nonprofit University Corporation for Atmospheric Research on behalf of NSF and the UCAR university community.

  • NCAR is not a federal agency and its employees are not part of the federal personnel system.
  • Our activities complement those of the federal agencies and we work closely with them.

More about us