AVIATION APPLICATIONS PROGRAM

Information

Overview

Aviation weather represents the longest running and the founding element of RAL’s work. Within the Aviation Applications Program (AAP), our current research emphases are: in–flight icing; snowfall and freezing precipitation; convective storm nowcasting and forecasting; atmospheric turbulence; numerical weather prediction; remote sensing; data assimilation; precipitation physics; ceiling and visibility; oceanic weather; and dissemination methods. Development of useful aviation applications requires a strong connection between our work and the needs of aviators. End–user requirements are considered at each step along the development path. Our work tends to be heavily oriented toward real–time operational systems and this focus leads to an emphasis on algorithm development, specialized graphical displays, systems engineering, operational demonstrations, and the associated scientific validations and user–oriented evaluations.

 

Key Contacts

Staff
Division / Section Staff Directory (39)
NameEmailPhone
Pearson, Julia jpearson@ucar.edu303-497-8373
Cunning, Gary cunning@ucar.edu303-497-8441
Steiner, Matthias msteiner@ucar.edu303-497-2720
Dumont, Arnaud dumont@ucar.edu303-497-8434
Sharman, Robert sharman@ucar.edu303-497-8457
Goodrich, Lisa lisag@ucar.edu303-497-2866
Deierling, Wiebke deierlin@ucar.edu303-497-8760
Goodrich, Kent goodrich@ucar.edu303-497-8459
Prestopnik, Julie jpresto@ucar.edu303-497-8399
Landolt, Scott landolt@ucar.edu303-497-2804
Lindholm, Tenny lindholm@ucar.edu303-497-8448
Mccarthy, Paddy paddy@ucar.edu
Keller, Teddie tkeller@ucar.edu303-497-8494
Kessinger, Cathy kessinge@ucar.edu303-497-8481
Craig, Jason jcraig@ucar.edu303-497-2868
Meymaris, Greg meymaris@ucar.edu303-497-2828
Prestopnik, Paul prestop@ucar.edu303-497-8393
Pinto, James pinto@ucar.edu303-497-2874
Serke, David serke@ucar.edu303-497-8311
Cornman, Larry cornman@ucar.edu303-497-8439
Gaydos, Andrew gaydos@ucar.edu303-497-2721
Grim, Joe grim@ucar.edu303-497-8397
Kalb, Christina kalb@ucar.edu303-497-2819
Stone, Ken kstone@ucar.edu303-497-8920
Adriaansen, Daniel dadriaan@ucar.edu303-497-2853
McCabe, George mccabe@ucar.edu303-497-2768
Munoz-Esparza, Domingo domingom@ucar.edu303-497-8384
Jensen, Anders ajensen@ucar.edu303-497-8484
Rugg, Allyson arugg@ucar.edu303-497-2707
Lentz, Justin lentz@ucar.edu303-497-8438
Cyccone, Jerry cyccone@ucar.edu303-497-2755
Lave, Joshua lave@ucar.edu303-497-8258
Gill, Nagam ngill@ucar.edu303-497-8495
Jacobson, Darcy djacob18@ucar.edu303-497-2725
Storm, Joshua storm@ucar.edu
Andersen, Brianne brianne@ucar.edu
Matoush, Ryan matoush@ucar.edu
Ross, Dylan ross@ucar.edu
Hancock, Jeffrey jhancock@ucar.edu303-497-2896

Random Profile

WRITER/EDITOR III