AVIATION APPLICATIONS PROGRAM

Information

Overview

Aviation weather represents the longest running and the founding element of RAL’s work. Within the Aviation Applications Program (AAP), our current research emphases are: in–flight icing; snowfall and freezing precipitation; convective storm nowcasting and forecasting; atmospheric turbulence; numerical weather prediction; remote sensing; data assimilation; precipitation physics; ceiling and visibility; oceanic weather; and dissemination methods. Development of useful aviation applications requires a strong connection between our work and the needs of aviators. End–user requirements are considered at each step along the development path. Our work tends to be heavily oriented toward real–time operational systems and this focus leads to an emphasis on algorithm development, specialized graphical displays, systems engineering, operational demonstrations, and the associated scientific validations and user–oriented evaluations.

 
Staff
Division / Section Staff Directory (37)
NameEmailPhone
Pearson, Julia jpearson@ucar.edu303-497-8373
Cunning, Gary cunning@ucar.edu303-497-8441
Steiner, Matthias msteiner@ucar.edu303-497-2720
Dumont, Arnaud dumont@ucar.edu303-497-8434
Sharman, Robert sharman@ucar.edu303-497-8457
Goodrich, Lisa lisag@ucar.edu303-497-2866
Deierling, Wiebke deierlin@ucar.edu303-497-8760
Goodrich, Kent goodrich@ucar.edu303-497-8459
Prestopnik, Julie jpresto@ucar.edu303-497-8399
Landolt, Scott landolt@ucar.edu303-497-2804
Lindholm, Tenny lindholm@ucar.edu
Mccarthy, Paddy paddy@ucar.edu
Keller, Teddie tkeller@ucar.edu303-497-8494
Kessinger, Cathy kessinge@ucar.edu303-497-8481
Craig, Jason jcraig@ucar.edu303-497-2868
Meymaris, Greg meymaris@ucar.edu303-497-2828
Prestopnik, Paul prestop@ucar.edu303-497-8393
Pinto, James pinto@ucar.edu303-497-2874
Serke, David serke@ucar.edu303-497-8311
Carmichael, Arthur brucec@ucar.edu
Cornman, Larry cornman@ucar.edu303-497-8439
Gaydos, Andrew gaydos@ucar.edu303-497-2721
Grim, Joe grim@ucar.edu303-497-8397
Shin, Hyeyum (Hailey) hshin@ucar.edu303-497-8260
Kalb, Christina kalb@ucar.edu303-497-2819
Stone, Ken kstone@ucar.edu303-497-8920
Adriaansen, Daniel dadriaan@ucar.edu303-497-2853
McCabe, George mccabe@ucar.edu303-497-2768
Munoz-Esparza, Domingo domingom@ucar.edu303-497-8384
Jensen, Anders ajensen@ucar.edu303-497-8484
Rugg, Allyson arugg@ucar.edu303-497-2707
Lentz, Justin lentz@ucar.edu303-497-8438
Cyccone, Jerry cyccone@ucar.edu303-497-2755
Lave, Joshua lave@ucar.edu303-497-8258
Jacobson, Darcy djacob18@ucar.edu303-497-2725
Hancock, Jeff jhancock@ucar.edu303-497-2896
Blitz, Thomas tblitz@ucar.edu303-497-2803

Quick Facts

NCAR is managed by the nonprofit University Corporation for Atmospheric Research on behalf of NSF and the UCAR university community.

  • NCAR is not a federal agency and its employees are not part of the federal personnel system.
  • Our activities complement those of the federal agencies and we work closely with them.

More about us

Random Profile

Admin Assistant III