Office of UCAR President

Information

Overview

Dr. Antonio J. Busalacchi has served as president of the University Corporation for Atmospheric Research (UCAR) since August 2016. Prior to his appointment at UCAR, Busalacchi served as director of the Earth System Science Interdisciplinary Center (ESSIC) and as a professor in the Department of Atmospheric and Oceanic Science at the University of Maryland.

The nonprofit University Corporation for Atmospheric Research—UCAR—was created in 1960. Our founding mission was simple: to operate the National Center for Atmospheric
Research on behalf of NCAR’s sponsor, the National Science Foundation, for the benefit of the atmospheric and related sciences community.

In 2015 we published a new Strategic Plan in which we expressed our vision:

Understanding tomorrow’s weather and climate through partnership, research, discovery, and innovation.

As the needs of our community and the problems facing our society and our planet have evolved, UCAR’s mission has broadened:

To empower our Member Institutions, our National Center, and our Community Programs by

  • Promoting research excellence
     
  • Developing fruitful collaborations
     
  • Managing unique resources
     
  • Creating novel capabilities
     
  • Building critical applications
     
  • Expanding educational opportunities
     
  • Engaging in effective advocacy

See Also

Staff
Staff Directory (23)
NameEmailPhone
Hosansky, David hosansky@ucar.edu303-497-8611
Gallon, Zhenya zhenya@ucar.edu303-497-8607
Drummond, Rachael rachaeld@ucar.edu303-497-8604
Snider, Laura lsnider@ucar.edu303-497-8605
Sundvall, David sundvall@ucar.edu303-497-8898
Coleman, Kelly kelly@ucar.edu303-497-8870
McClellan, Meg mmcclell@ucar.edu303-497-8875
Finley, Aneka afinley@ucar.edu303-497-1655
Kennedy, Christopher ckennedy@ucar.edu303-497-8615
Anderson, Michael maanders@ucar.edu303-497-8564
Olson, Wendy wolson@ucar.edu303-497-8874
Busalacchi, Antonio tonyb@ucar.edu303-497-1652
Farrar, Mike mfarrar@ucar.edu303-497-1719
Brinkworth, Carolyn carolyn@ucar.edu303-497-1670
Rock, Robyn rrock@ucar.edu303-497-1186
Skidmore, Judy skidmore@ucar.edu303-497-1658
Luna Aponte, Kristen kaponte@ucar.edu303-497-1657
Stevens, Peggy peggys@ucar.edu303-497-8601
Schmitz, Joanna joanna@ucar.edu303-497-1653
Hauser, Rachel rhauser@ucar.edu303-497-1117
Kelly, Gloria gloriak@ucar.edu303-497-2102
Rayder, Scott rayder@ucar.edu303-497-1673
Gerstman, Ari gerstman@ucar.edu202-787-1624

Random Profile

SOFT ENG/PROG III

Recent & Upcoming Visitors